*If you are interested in serving on the Board, please call 812.436.4352.  The Board of Directors provides financial and strategic direction for PEACE Zone.

The following includes short bios of the current Board Members:

Chris Dunning, President
Chris is currently President, Banking Center Manager at Old National Bank. Starting with the bank in 1991 as a part-time teller while attending college. He is President of Eastland Kiwanis, current North Side Kiwanis Foundation Board member, past member of the Evansville Commission on Homelessness-Northside Housing Committee. Chris also is a Leadership Evansville 2014 alumni and is past member of the Diversity Advisory Council at Old National Bank. Chris lives in Evansville with his wife Kimberly and their daughter Gabrielle. He enjoys following his daughter’s lacrosse games and traveling. He also has volunteered with PBS Channel Nine Auction, Junior Achievement, and YMCA.

Gene Schadler, Evansville State Hospital – Superintendent/Clinical Director – Board Vice President
Gene Schadler is the Superintendent/Clinical Director at Evansville State Hospital. He has worked as a Licensed Clinical Social Worker for the past 25 years in mental health treatment. He has a Bachelors in Psychology from Thomas More College and a Master’s of Science in Social Work from the University of Louisville. He is a member of the Mental Health Consortium to facilitate collaboration with local mental health organization and the Suicide Prevention Coalition. He continues his passion by living out the Mission of Evansville State Hospital: Hope and Recovery. He enjoys spending time with his family, gardening and learning new things as he enjoys being a “student”.

Tim Pigman, Skanska Controller, Board Treasurer

Beth Barchet
Beth is a lifelong resident of Evansville. She is a mother of five and a grandmother of four. Beth obtained her undergraduate degree in Social Work from the University of Southern Indiana while raising her children. Upon graduation, she obtained a position in the field of behavioral health. She went on to pursue her master’s degree in Social work while working full time and trying to keeping up with the activities of her five children. She has 17 years of experience working with individuals whose lives have been affected by mental illness. Currently, she is Director of Programs at Southwestern Behavioral Healthcare where she oversees the operations of five community-based programs and four group homes serving adults with mental illness. Beth has a passion for behavioral health and truly believes in the possibility of recovery. In her spare time, Beth enjoys spending time with her family, reading, exercising, and cross stitching.

Janie Chappell, Secretary
Janie Chappell is the Manager of Community Services & Business Development for Deaconess Cross Pointe and Deaconess CONCERN Employee Assistance Program.  She has 32 years of experience in the field of chemical dependency and behavioral health.  She has a Bachelor’s of Nursing Degree in Nursing from the University of Evansville and a Master’s in Science Degree in Nursing from the University of Cincinnati. She is the Chairperson of the Southwestern Indiana Suicide Prevention Coalition and co-chairperson of the Vanderburgh County Crisis Intervention Team Committee.  Janie is a master trainer in Applied Suicide Intervention Skills Training (ASIST), a master trainer in Question, Persuade & Refer Suicide Prevention Training (QPR), and a certified trainer in Assessing and Managing Suicide Risk (AMSR), Youth Mental Health First Aid and Adult Mental Health First Aid.  Janie is passionate about playing a role in reducing the stigma that surrounds mental illness and promoting recovery in all aspects of mental wellness. Her personal interests include reading, yoga, walking and spending time with her family.

Emily Reidford
Emily Reidford is the Executive Director of Mental Health America of Vanderburgh County. She started in August of 2012. She graduated from Indiana University in 2005 with a BA in Psychology and Human Development & Family Studies. Prior to starting with MHA, Emily worked for Primary Physician Network and the Easter Seals Rehabilitation Center. Professionally, she serves on Southwestern’s System of Care team, SW Indiana Suicide Prevention Coalition, Crisis Intervention Team, Latino Coalition, EVSC’s Big Table and Social/Emotional Learning Team and the Peace Zone Board of Directors.  Emily and her husband Chris live in Newburgh with their sons Cameron and Blake. Emily also volunteers with St. John’s Church, Memorial High School and Junior Achievement.

Eric Provost
Eric is a native of Evansville and has a background in both healthcare and financial services.  Eric holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology from Ball State University and a Master of Science degree in Healthcare Administration from the University of Evansville.  Eric is currently employed as a financial consultant at Hilliard Lyons in Evansville.  Prior to joining Hilliard Lyons, Eric held managerial positions at both St. Mary’s Medical Center and Southwestern Behavioral Healthcare.  Eric is an avid automotive & motorsport enthusiast, spending much of his free time in warmer months driving on road courses throughout the Midwest.   Eric also enjoys reading and spending time with friends and his family.  Eric is a firm believer in recovery and in empowering persons with mental illness to own their future.

Michelle Parks, Director of Behavioral Services, St. Vincent Evansville

Michelle Parks is currently the Director of Behavioral Health for St. Vincent Evansville and St. Vincent Warrick.   She has 15+ years of experience in healthcare and behavioral health. She obtained a Bachelors in Psychology from Indiana University,  a Master’s of Science in Social Work from the University of Louisville, and a Master’s in Business Administration with a focus in Healthcare Management. She is a member of the Mental Health Consortium, Suicide Prevention Coalition, Mayor’s Mental Health Coalition, and Mayor’s Substance Abuse Taskforce to facilitate collaboration with local mental health organizations.  She is passionate about healthcare, reducing the stigma surrounding mental illness, and promoting mental wellness.  Michelle enjoys soccer, spending time with family, and traveling.

Craig Emig, Jones Wallace, LLC – Attorney at Law

Jon Schaefer, Vanderburgh County Public Defender Agency, Attorney at Law

Leave a Reply